Founded by the bishops of the United States as their national university, The Catholic University of America is governed by a unique Board of Trustees consisting of 50 persons of whom 24 are clerics of the Roman Catholic Church — currently four cardinals, nine archbishops, 10 bishops, and two monsignors. The archbishop of Washington is the chancellor of the University.

The president oversees the operations of the University with the assistance of the provost, who is the chief academic officer, and five vice presidents, who are responsible for student affairs, enrollment management and marketing, advancement, finance, and University relations.

The 11-member executive committee of the administrative council meets monthly and provides input to the president, provost, and vice presidents. The membership of this committee rotates yearly. The full administrative council, which includes 35 representatives, meets three times a year and provides input on nonacademic matters.

The 12 schools of the University are led by their respective deans. Theological College, the seminary that is affiliated with Catholic University, is led by its rector.

The official policies governing the University are posted on the University’s website and are publicly available.

  • President’s Welcome

    President John Garvey shares with future students and parents what it means to have a Catholic Mind, and to be a part of a community grounded by faith and virtue.

    Learn More
  • Board of Trustees

    The civil charter and the Bylaws place in the Board of Trustees ultimate responsibility for governance and sole responsibility for fiscal affairs of the University.

    Learn More
  • Administrative Council

    This body meets monthly during the academic year to discuss the current affairs of the University and provide input to the President, Provost, and Vice Presidents for high level decisions.

    Learn More