The civil charter and the bylaws place in the Board of Trustees ultimate responsibility for governance and sole responsibility for fiscal affairs of the University. The board's membership is limited to 50 persons of whom 24 must be clerics of the Roman Catholic Church. The chancellor, who is the Archbishop of Washington, and the president are members ex officio. The Board holds scheduled meetings four times each year. Its executive committee meets during intervals between board meetings and on call by the chairman and is empowered to act for the board.

The officers of the board — chairman and vice chairman — are elected from the membership. Members serve terms of four years, and normally do not serve more than three terms in succession. The chairman, the chancellor, the president, and the chairs of standing committees on academic affairs, audit, development, finance, student life, trusteeship, and University seminary are members ex officio of the executive committee, to which three other at-large members are elected by the membership. Nonvoting membership in certain standing committees is extended to duly appointed members of the administration, faculties, and staff, to undergraduate and post-baccalaureate students, and to externs.

Current Membership of the Board of Trustees

  • Archbishop Samuel J. Aquila, Denver, Colo.
  • Lawrence C. Blanford, Naples, Fla.
  • Lee Ann Joiner Brady, Skillman, N.J.
  • Bishop Michael F. Burbidge, Raleigh, N.C.
  • Joseph L Carlini, Malvern, Pa.
  • Archbishop Charles J. Chaput, Philadelphia, Pa.
  • Bishop Octavio Cisneros, Brooklyn, N.Y.
  • Leo A. Daly III, Washington, D.C.
  • Cardinal Daniel N. DiNardo, Houston, Texas
  • Cardinal Timothy M. Dolan, New York, N.Y.
  • Sister Janet Eisner, S.N.D., Boston, Mass.
  • Bishop Daniel E. Flores, Brownsville, Texas
  • John Garvey, President, Washington, D.C.
  • Archbishop José H. Gomez, Los Angeles, Calif.
  • Archbishop Wilton D. Gregory, Atlanta, Ga.
  • Frank J. Hanna III, Atlanta, Ga. 
  • Stephen J. Kaneb, South Hampton, N.H.
  • Archbishop Joseph E. Kurtz, Louisville, Ky.
  • Leonard A. Leo, McLean, Va. 
  • Archbishop William E. Lori, Baltimore, Md.
  • Bishop Paul S. Loverde, Arlington, Va.
  • Bishop Gregory J. Mansour, Brooklyn, N.Y.
  • Bishop Robert J. McManus, Worcester, Mass.
  • Michael J. Millette, New Rochelle, N.Y.
  • Jeffrey R. Moreland, Arlington, Va.
  • James Moye, Fairfield, Conn.
  • Mark A. Murray, Grand Rapids, Mich.
  • Anne E. O'Donnell, M.D., Arlington, Va.
  • Bishop Thomas J. Olmsted, Phoenix, Ariz.
  • Cardinal Seán P. O'Malley, O.F.M. Cap., Chairman, Braintree, Mass.
  • Bishop Joseph A. Pepe, Las Vegas, Nev.
  • Neil J. Rauenhorst, Tampa, Fla.
  • E. Jeffrey Rossi, Esq., Warren, Ohio
  • Monsignor Walter R. Rossi, Washington, D.C.
  • Catharine Murray Ryan, Pittsburgh, Pa.
  • Timothy C. Scheve, Philadelphia, Pa.
  • Enrique Segura, Washington, D.C.
  • Victor P. Smith, Esq., Indianapolis, Ind.
  • Bishop Thomas J. Tobin, Providence, R.I.
  • Monsignor Peter J. Vaghi, Bethesda, Md.
  • Michael P. Warsaw, Birmingham, Ala.
  • Archbishop Thomas G. Wenski, Miami, Fla.
  • Carolyn Y. Woo, Baltimore, Md.
  • Cardinal Donald W. Wuerl, Chancellor, Washington, D.C.
  • Frank G. Persico, Secretary of the Board, Fulton, Md.
Board members are listed as of September 19, 2016.
To contact the Board of Trustees email: