The Catholic University of America

The Catholic University of America, founded in 1887 by the U.S. Catholic bishops with the support of Pope Leo XIII, serves as the (one and only) national university of the Catholic Church in the United States.

We engage each other

and the world from our 176-acre campus, three miles north of the U.S. Capitol.

We stand together

scholars, teachers and students — across 12 schools and 22 research facilities.

We seek knowledge

more than 60 undergraduate degrees, 78 master's degrees, and 45 doctoral degrees.


Upcoming Events

  • Washington International Piano Series

    Washington International Piano Series

    Thursday, Dec. 8, 7 to 8 p.m.

    The Washington International Piano Series celebrates the centennial of Alberto Ginastera with a recital by Santiago Rodriguez. The program includes Ginastera's Preludios americanos and Piano Sonata No. 2, along with works by Sergei Rachmaninov and Thomas Sleeper.

    Learn more

True education enables us to love life and opens us to the fullness of life.

Pope Francis