The Catholic University of America

About The Catholic University of America


The Catholic University of America, founded in 1887 by the U.S. Catholic bishops with the support of Pope Leo XIII, is the national university of the Catholic Church in the United States. Established as a graduate research center, the University began offering undergraduate education in 1904 and today is home to 12 schools and 21 research facilities. Catholic University is the only American university with ecclesiastical faculties granting canonical degrees in three disciplines.

The University's verdant 180-acre campus, located just north of Capitol Hill, allows students easy access to the wide range of educational, cultural and political opportunities that Washington, D.C. has to offer.

  • Mission


    The University's mission statement, aims and goals.

  • Section of the campus online map.

    Visiting Campus and D.C.

    How to get to CUA, including online and printable campus maps and a virtual tour of campus.

  • Interactive events calendar

    Event Calendar

    What's going on at CUA, and interactive online calendar.

  • Administration and Governance

    Administration and Governance

    Information on the University's board of trustees, president and senior staff, with links to administrative websites.

  • Offices and Services

    Offices and Services

    Official websites and online resources for students, parents, faculty, staff and alumni.

  • Faculty

    Faculty Experts

    A searchable database CUA faculty and their topics of expertise.

  • News Releases

    News Releases

    A comprehensive list of news and press releases from CUA.

  • Photo/Video Gallery

    Photo and Video Gallery

    See visual highlights from recent events at CUA.

  • University Facts

    University Facts

    Overview and brief history of Catholic University, with related links to more University facts.